4th International Insolvency and Bankruptcy Moot Competition: 8-10 January 2021 (Virtual)

8th-10th January 2021
National Law University Delhi, Sec-14 Dwarka, New Delhi – 110078

Organised by

The Centre for Transnational Commercial Law (CTCL)
National Law University Delhi

In Collaboration with

INSOL India and Society of Insolvency Practitioners of India (SIPI)

Supported by

Insolvency and Bankruptcy Board of India (IBBI) and UNCITRAL RCAP

The National Law University Delhi, in collaboration with INSOL India and Society of Insolvency Practitioners of India (SIPI), supported by the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Board of India (IBBI) and the UNCITRAL Regional Centre for Asia and the Pacific, had initiated a Moot Competition on Insolvency and Bankruptcy in 2017. The Centre for Transnational Commercial Law at National Law University Delhi (“CTCL”) is the Organising Body for this Moot.

Insolvency Law is a sophisticated and complex economic law.  It is one of the most critical components of the financial architecture of any country involving a wide range of stakeholders. It is critical that the students of law, commerce, and management understand the nuances of this specialised subject, by both education and training in this field. 

This Moot is the first of its kind in India, and it was conceived as a platform to enable students of the Law Universities and Schools of Management and Economics to engage with various stages of the insolvency process; wherein the simulations are as close as possible to the actual proceedings before the NCLT. The 4th edition of IBMC was virtually conducted on 8th-10th January 2021. More than 50 teams representing institutions from around the world registered and participated in the competition. After a Memorandum Qualification round, 16 teams from the following institutions were shortlisted and made it into the Oral Rounds:

National Law University Odisha; Government Law College, Mumbai; National University of Singapore; Chanakya National Law University, Patna; Symbiosis Law School, Pune; ILS Law College; Symbiosis Law School, Noida; Auro University; Maharashtra National Law University, Nagpur; Institute of Law, Nirma University (ILNU); SVKM’s Pravin Gandhi College of Law, Mumbai; School of Law, Christ University; The National University of Advanced Legal Studies (NUALS); National Law University, Jodhpur; Dr. Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University; and MNLU, Mumbai.

After the Preliminary Oral Rounds which were judged by professionals proficient in the law, 4 teams qualified into the Semi Final Round: Dr. Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University; National University of Singapore; School of Law, Christ University; and National Law University Odisha.

Dr. Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University and School of Law, Christ University made it into the Final Round of the competition, which was judged by Dr. M. S. Sahoo, Chairperson, Insolvency and Bankruptcy Board of India, Ms. Pooja Mahajan, Managing Partner, Chandhiok & Mahajan, Advocates and Solicitors, Mr. Dhananjay Kumar, Partner, Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas & Fellow INSOL International. Their presence was morale boosting for the finalists and after an interesting and grueling round, School of Law, Christ University was unanimously declared winners of the moot! 

The Valedictory Ceremony of the competition was graced by legal luminaries and esteemed dignitaries. Dr. Risham Garg, Associate Professor of Law & Director, Centre for Transnational Commercial Law (CTCL), National Law University Delhi, spoke about the moot. Prof. Dr. Srikrishna Deva Rao, Vice Chancellor, National Law University Delhi, delivered the Welcome Address. Shri. Amarjit Singh Chandhiok, President, INSOL India, gave the Special Address. Dr. M. S. Sahoo, Chairperson, Insolvency and Bankruptcy Board of India (IBBI) shared his thoughts as the Guest of Honour. The Chief Guest, Hon’ble Mr. Justice Sanjay Kishan Kaul, Judge, Supreme Court of India, delivered the valedictory address. Following the Prize Distribution, Prof. Dr. G. S. Bajpai, Registrar, National Law University Delhi, gave the Vote of Thanks bringing the addresses to a completion and bringing the competition to an end.



School of Law, Christ University, Anoushka Borker, Sanjana Jain, Vishnu Mangalvedkar and Sapna Kataria (Trophy and cash prize of Rs. 15,000 by INSOL India, Books pack by Taxmann)

First Runners-up

Dr. Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University; Team members- Divya Mann, Yogita Gupta, Rakshit Bajpai, Aditya Chajjed (Trophy and cash prize of Rs. 10,000 by INSOL India

Best Oralist (Finals)

Vishnu Mangalvedkar, School of Law Christ University Bangaluru

Best Oralists (Preliminary Rounds)

Priyanshi Vakharia, Government Law College Mumbai and Vijayaraj Muthukumaran, National University of Singapore

Best Memoranda

Maharashtra National Law University, Mumbai, Team members – Devashree Nimbhorkar, Pranjal Mishra, Parth Sharma

Best Newcomer Performance

National University of Singapore, Team Members – Bryan Chia, Vijayaraj Muthukumaran, Zhan Xiangyun

Honourable Mentions

Maharashtra National Law University (MNLU) Nagpur, Team Members – Kirti Tapadiya, Kanchan Daswani and Amisha Kamane


The success of the competition lies in the multi-stakeholder engagement of academicians, insolvency professionals, students and our partners. The participants had the opportunity of not only witnessing the highest level of advocacy but also learn from top professionals in the field. The participants shared fond memories of this competition. We thank them for their participation and wish them all the best for the challenges that lie ahead.